New Balance Indoor Grand Prix
Reggie Lewis Center on the Campus of Roxbury Community College

Sat, Feb 05, 2011

Gebremeskel loses shoe but wins thrilling 3000m at NB Indoor GP

Notice: Could not find a file at: in /home/big/public_html/modules/CGSmartImage/action.default.php on line 44

Ethiopian Dejen Gebremeskel provided the crowds at the Reggie Lewis Center with an exhilarating finish to win the Men’s 3000m over double European Champion Mo Farah at the 16th Annual New Balance Indoor Grand Prix. Gebremeskel, who lost his right shoe early in the race, stuck behind Farah, who followed the pacemaker through nearly eight laps before leading the second the half of the race. With Farah pushing to better his own British record, the European Champion traded places with Nixon Chepseba of Kenya and Gebremeskel until the final lap when the Ethiopian took the lead for the final time with inside 100m remaining, breaking the tape first in 7:35.37 to Farah’s 7:37.81.

The Women’s 3000m saw World Indoor 1500m Champion (and last year’s winner in this event) Kalkidan Gezahegne unable to respond to the sustained effort of former Texas Tech great Sally Kipyego. Kipyego’s strong pace in the final stages saw all her competitors fall off, with Kipyego winning in 8:49.74, over Jenny Simpson (8:50.78), Megan Wright of Canada (8:52.01) and Gezahegne (8:52.05). In the Women’s Mile, former Villanova standout and Serbian record holder Marina Muncan took a surprise win in 4:34.46 over fellow Wildcats Carmen Hussar and Sheila Reid.

The Men’s Mile was another shocker, with New England native Russell Brown outkicking Garrett Heath and Olympic silver medalist and two-time defending Boston champion Nick Willis to win in 3:54.81. Lukas Verzbicas, the reigning high school national cross country champion finished a respectable eighth in the elite race, in a time of 4:03.88, faster than his outdoor personal best.

US Indoor runner-up Trell Kimmons won the Men’s 60m in a time of 6.60 over Chris Davis and Ivory Williams, while 2005 World 100m Champion and Olympic silver medalist Lauryn Williams won the women’s dash in 7.17 over Marshevet Myers and former World Indoor Champion Lisa Barber. Phoebe Wright, the 2010 NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Champion over 800m, won her specialty over former Cornell standout Morgan Uceny, 2:01.01 to 2:01.65.

The home teams performed well in the Boys’ and Girls’ Junior Invitational Miles, with New England winning over the Visiting Teams in both races. The girls’ race featured a 1-2-3 finish by New England, with Lindsay Crevoiserat winning in 4:52.60 over Katrina Coogan and Andrea Keklak. The boys’ race was a closer affair, with Miles Schoedler of New Jersey and Tom Awad of New York taking the first two spots for the visiting team in 4:16.92 and 4:17.68, respectively. Robert Allen, Josh Lampron and Daniel Nestor’s 3-4-5 finishes helped New England secure the team competition, 32 to 36.