February 4, 2023
New Balance Indoor Grand Prix

History: 2017

Fresh off his historic win at the Rio Olympics, Matthew Centrowitz Noah Lyles took first in the mile in 3:55.78, to runner-up Vincent Kibet's 3:56.09. Another American medalist from Rio, silver medalist Paul Chelimo, won an exciting race over 3000m, besting both Andrew Butchart of Great Britain and Olympic bronze medalist Hagos Gebrhiwet of Ethiopia.

In the Jesse Loubier Memorial 300m, rising young star Noah Lyles won emphatically in a massive personal best and meet record of 32.47 seconds. Olympic silver medalist Hellen Obiri of Kenya won a thrilling women's 3000m ahead of reigning world indoor 1500m champion Sifan Hassan of the Netherlands and American 1500m record-holder Shannon Rowbury.

In a battle of Olympic Champions, 2016 Olympic pole vault gold medalist Ekaterini Stefanidi won over 2012 Olympic gold medalist Jenn Suhr with a clearance of 4.63m.

The highlight of the meet came in the women's distance medley when a loaded quartet featuring Olympic bronze medalist Emma Coburn, high school phenom Sydney McLaughlin, World Championships bronze medalist Brenda Martinez and Olympic bronze medalist Jenny Simpson smashed the world record with a final time of 10:40.31, besting the previous mark set at the 2014 New Balance Indoor Grand Prix.